Upgrade from Max 2012 to Max 2016 issues

All questions and problems regarding renderers and compositing applications should be posted here.
Post Reply
kbiggers
Posts: 34
Joined: 12 Mar 2015, 21:56

Upgrade from Max 2012 to Max 2016 issues

Post by kbiggers » 06 Jul 2015, 16:09

Hello,

We recently upgraded our farm from 3dsMax 2012 to 3dsMax 2016 and are having some issues getting the upgraded machines to render. I thought it would be as simple as changing the "default renderer" for 3dsMax from "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max Design 2012\3dsmaxcmd.exe" to "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 2016\3dsmaxcmd.exe" i made this switch and now every time we try to render from Max2016 to a another Max2016 machine we get the following error:

7/6/2015 9:59:58 AM: Chunk error: The renderer returned an error-code (0x3)

Max is licensed on both machines and renders fine when we submit it locally on the machine. It is only when we try and net render using RenderPal that we see this error. I was just wondering if anyone else had been experiencing this issue or if anyone had any solutions to it?

Thanks in advance!

User avatar
Shoran Support
RenderPal Team
Posts: 1199
Joined: 11 Apr 2008, 00:35
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Upgrade from Max 2012 to Max 2016 issues

Post by Shoran Support » 06 Jul 2015, 16:22

Please post the entire log of the rendering.

kbiggers
Posts: 34
Joined: 12 Mar 2015, 21:56

Re: Upgrade from Max 2012 to Max 2016 issues

Post by kbiggers » 06 Jul 2015, 16:41

=== Pass_test_cube_DEFAULT, Chunk 1 - 7/6/2015 9:59:44 AM ==========================================
Scenes: \\computer\VIZ\folder\_TEST\6-23-15\2015_07_06\Pass_test_cube_DEFAULT_1000\Pass_test_cube_DEFAULT.max
Section: Frames: 0.000 - 0.000, Region: Entire image
Renderer: 3ds Max/Default version
=== Started ========================================================================================

> "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 2016\3dsmaxcmd.exe" -start:0 -end:0 -frames:0-0 -rfw:0 "C:/Program Files (x86)/RenderPal V2/Client/Temp/Cache/Pass_test_cube_DEFAULT.max"
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

7/ocilMa67/4 Ml /Pt_bEL
7/: fati7/Un7/eeFicht_bA.am7/


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

=== Pass_test_cube_DEFAULT, Chunk 1 - 7/6/2015 10:00:11 AM =========================================
Duration: 27 sec Avg. CPU usage: 5% CPU idle time: 25 sec
Result: Erroneous
Error: The renderer returned an error-code (0x3)
=== Done ===========================================================================================

User avatar
Shoran Support
RenderPal Team
Posts: 1199
Joined: 11 Apr 2008, 00:35
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Upgrade from Max 2012 to Max 2016 issues

Post by Shoran Support » 06 Jul 2015, 18:22

Not much to see there, unfortunately.

kbiggers
Posts: 34
Joined: 12 Mar 2015, 21:56

Re: Upgrade from Max 2012 to Max 2016 issues

Post by kbiggers » 06 Jul 2015, 18:45

Do you have any idea of what could be causing this?

User avatar
Shoran Support
RenderPal Team
Posts: 1199
Joined: 11 Apr 2008, 00:35
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Upgrade from Max 2012 to Max 2016 issues

Post by Shoran Support » 06 Jul 2015, 19:01

No, not really. The output itself looks really strange. You should also turn off local scene caching for testing.

madCGi
Posts: 44
Joined: 14 Nov 2014, 11:41

Re: Upgrade from Max 2012 to Max 2016 issues

Post by madCGi » 30 Sep 2015, 10:58

does RenderPal have an updated renderer profile for max 2016 yet? We created our own using the 2015 renderer as a base. We have had some problems. If there is an official RenderPal 2016 renderer setup that might prevent some errors.

User avatar
Shoran Support
RenderPal Team
Posts: 1199
Joined: 11 Apr 2008, 00:35
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Upgrade from Max 2012 to Max 2016 issues

Post by Shoran Support » 30 Sep 2015, 13:49

Care to tell us what problems you had and what you had to change?

Post Reply