Page 1 of 1

Elevated Execution

Posted: 16 Apr 2018, 16:28
by Johan
Hi,

I've been struggeling a while to get a compliant workflow going.
I need to be able to submit jobs and retrieve server information in 3ds max without running max as administrator.
I've tried many things already, but besides wrapping the commandline in a socketserver of some sort I've not been able to properly communicate with the commandline interface (C:\Program Files (x86)\RenderPal V2\CmdRC\RpRcCmd.exe)
I use windows 10 and have UAC off, (but can't run max as admin). Every command I try will fire up a cmd window and that will fire up a new window (probably elevated) that executes, but that in turn doesn't write any data anymore.

Here's an example:

Code: Select all

rprccmd = "\"C:\\Program Files (x86)\\RenderPal V2\\CmdRC\\rprccmd\" "
cmd = "-compact -listpools >> d:\\temp_list.txt"
hiddendoscommand (rprccmd + cmd)
If I run that in max without "run as admin", the file gets created but is never written to. When I run max as admin it all works as expected.
Tried the python wrapper as well, same results.

I have a hard time understanding what the need for elevated rights is. Also tried changing rights on the exe, also did nothing.
How can I submit jobs from max to renderpall and retreive information from the manager without running max as admin.

Thanks!
-Johan

Re: Elevated Execution

Posted: 16 Apr 2018, 17:43
by Johan
To make it simpeler to understand the issue, start a command prompt thats elevated to admin and one without, now run both the same command:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files (x86)\RenderPal V2\CmdRC\RpRcCmd.exe" -listpools
http://forum.RenderPal.com/posting.php? ... f=5&p=3564
Admin one gives feedback the other not.

Hope this helps, please let me know how to get to RenderPal without admin rights.

Thanks,
-Johan

Re: Elevated Execution

Posted: 20 Apr 2018, 12:23
by Johan
Hmm, nothing? No one has these issues, or solved it?
Thanks!
-Johan

Re: Elevated Execution

Posted: 19 May 2018, 20:30
by Shoran Support
We've just released a new version that should solve this.

Re: Elevated Execution

Posted: 07 Jun 2019, 13:28
by eqko
I just tested this, 2.15.3 still requires elevation.

Re: Elevated Execution

Posted: 12 Jul 2019, 16:11
by lhaynes
I have also found that if the user is an Windows admin, then the Submitter and Remote Controller utilities will always prompt for elevated execution (unnecessarily). Even though "Run this program as an administrator" is not checked.

However, if the user is a standard Windows user, then the utilities will run with standard permissions without prompting.

Re: Elevated Execution

Posted: 22 Sep 2019, 09:35
by dupp
Hi,

weare having this issue on some machines. For me it looks lite it's older installations of windows 10. Might be upgrades from windows 8 that are having this issue. On newer machines (less than two yeras old) RpRcCmd.exe runs smoothly. Dont know the diference but would love to have a solution...

Re: Elevated Execution

Posted: 08 Oct 2019, 13:36
by Shoran Support
Upgrading a Windows version can indeed cause all kinds of problems; we always recommend to perform fresh OS installations.