clients not reporting chunk finished

If you are seeking for help, this is the right place to ask!

Re: clients not reporting chunk finished

Postby basicspace » 01 Mar 2018, 19:36

We are seeing this happen as well. Very random and occurring with Maya 2017 and 2018 with multiple builds of Arnold 5. Any progress on a fix?
basicspace
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 12 Oct 2017, 15:31

Re: clients not reporting chunk finished

Postby ch3m1kal » 12 Sep 2018, 10:37

Can confirm this issue persists through multiple upgrades of the RenderPal server, different versions of 3DSMax and different versions of Vray.

After observing it for a while, my guess would be that the client sometimes fails to correctly flag a frame as finished (probably because it doesn't correctly detect when the rendering process shuts down on completion / error?) and the keepalive mechanism for connections doesn't seem to have a check for actual status. Maybe add a sanity check where the server queries what status the client thinks it has and if it doesn't match what the server thinks, the client is reset? Maybe also recheck if the render process is actually still running when this happens?

Also it definitely happens a lot more on longer renders(more than 2 hours/ frame).
ch3m1kal
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 23 Feb 2015, 13:09

Re: clients not reporting chunk finished

Postby Shoran Support » 12 Sep 2018, 17:53

Have you checked whether the rendering process actually has shut down?
User avatar
Shoran Support
RenderPal Team
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: 11 Apr 2008, 00:35
Location: Germany

Re: clients not reporting chunk finished

Postby madCGi » 12 Sep 2018, 18:05

FYI, this is still an on going problem for us as well. A lot of the time the frame has actually finished rendering and saved out, but the Client keeps hold of the job. In the morning we kick each machine that is stuck to a new job manually. :roll:
madCGi
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 14 Nov 2014, 11:41

Re: clients not reporting chunk finished

Postby ch3m1kal » 14 Sep 2018, 13:51

Shoran Support wrote:Have you checked whether the rendering process actually has shut down?


Yes, as madCGi has said, the process has been successfully killed, the frames generally are rendered out ok, but the client somehow fails to update the status. This leads to some render slaves being essentially idle until the problem is resolved manually.

The fix is generally to disconnect - reconnect the client, which also restarts the frame, and then has to be manually marked as skip. It's also interesting to note that disconnecting / reconnecting the client generally causes it to retry rendering the frame, while the server assigns it to another client, which means 2 different clients are rendering the same frame.
ch3m1kal
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 23 Feb 2015, 13:09

Re: clients not reporting chunk finished

Postby Shoran Support » 14 Sep 2018, 14:35

What is the status of the actual client (not what is shown in the server, but what is shown in the client program itself)?
User avatar
Shoran Support
RenderPal Team
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: 11 Apr 2008, 00:35
Location: Germany

Re: clients not reporting chunk finished

Postby ch3m1kal » 20 Sep 2018, 12:59

Finally managed to reproduce the issue, it's pretty random.

See the attached screeenshots. The client is idle, and thinks it has nothing to render.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ch3m1kal
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 23 Feb 2015, 13:09

Re: clients not reporting chunk finished

Postby Shoran Support » 24 Sep 2018, 21:04

We have updated RenderPal V2 (V2.15.3) so that the clients now resend status updates if necessary. We cannot say whether this solves your problems, but you should definitely give it a try.
User avatar
Shoran Support
RenderPal Team
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: 11 Apr 2008, 00:35
Location: Germany

Re: clients not reporting chunk finished

Postby madCGi » 25 Sep 2018, 10:28

Downloaded, and with IT for deployment. (fingers crossed)
madCGi
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 14 Nov 2014, 11:41

Re: clients not reporting chunk finished

Postby ch3m1kal » 25 Sep 2018, 13:30

Shoran Support wrote:We have updated RenderPal V2 (V2.15.3) so that the clients now resend status updates if necessary. We cannot say whether this solves your problems, but you should definitely give it a try.


Thank you very much! Will add it to the deployment schedule and see if that fixes the problem.
ch3m1kal
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 23 Feb 2015, 13:09

Previous

Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron